NEVER Enough Hours in the Day

No matter how hard I try to plan things out, there never seems to be enough hours in the day. For instance, I will plan on doing something at the office one day. I will have my mind set on getting something accomplished, and then I get pulled in so many directions and won’t get to work on what I had planned on doing that day. I will say I’m going to plan on getting something done around the house that evening, and something else comes up that needs my attention more. Story of my life……

I have 2 little girls. My oldest is 5 1/2, and my little one just turned 3. They are my blessings, and I love them very much. I wish I could spend more time with them during the week. I’m not a Stay at Home Mom, but I sure wish I was. I feel like I miss out on so much of their lives, and I also feel that others have seen their firsts and have experienced things with them that I should have. It is very hard on me not being able to be with them as much as I’d like to. I hate that I try to cram in a lot of fun stuff to do on the weekend, and then sometimes, okay, a lot of times, it doesn’t happen because the weekends are also time for laundry, house cleaning, grocery shopping, and errand running. I miss the days of them being little and wanting to just chill out on Saturday and have pj day while I did laundry and clean, and still found time for cartoons, snuggles, and snacks. Now they are older, and they want to play with their friends, go to the store, and go do something fun. Their friends come over and play a lot. I like that my house is a fun house and that their friends like coming over to play. I pay attention to the kids and keep an eye on them. That will sometimes take away from me getting something done that I had planned, but I love the reward of the smiling faces from my kids and their friends.

I hate taking time away from the girls on the weekend because I don’t get to spend a whole lot of time with them during the week. I need a couple of extra hours a day during the week so that I can get the not so fun adult chores done so that I can spend the weekend with my kids and not have to worry about any of that. I’ve gotten a “cleaning schedule” from a Mommy friend of mine. The only thing with that is I want to say she is a Stay at Home Mom and does this schedule during daytime hours. I don’t have a lot of time to spend with the kids on work evenings/nights, so I really don’t want to take that time away from them by cleaning house. Sigh….

Tomorrow, I’m going to start my weekend workouts at the gym. I’m going to hate taking this time that I need for myself because that takes me away from the kids again. I know I shouldn’t feel guilty about it, but I do. I know it’s going to be good for me, but the guilt is going to eat away at me for a few weeks.

If anyone knows where to find the extra hours in the day where everything gets done, including a workout, please let me know. If you find the cleaning & laundry fairy, please send her my way. I think my cleaning and laundry fairy is on extended vacation at the beach.

Leave a Reply

